Those crazy kids

March 14, 2009 at 11:50 AM | Posted in Life | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Writers are, by definition, just a little bit insane. Google it and you’ll see what I mean. Authors and poets have a long and noble history of manic depression, alcoholism, drug use, and, of course, suicide.

So teenage writers – all those 20-and-unders who scribble in notebooks in the middle of class, who stay up until 2 a.m. to finish a chapter, who are not paid and (sometimes) not really supported by family or friends  – I’m pretty sure we’re beyond insane. We’re completely cracked.

Because, despite what people will tell you, writing a novel is hard. Writing a poem is hard. Writing a short story that gives the reader a clear mental picture of settings, plots and characters in a few pages – it’s all really, really hard.

So why do we do it?

I’m going to leave a lot of those answers up to you – others who may be reading this blog right now. Because I can’t answer for you. I can only for myself.

Personally? I write because I love watching words flow from my fingers like they belong to someone else. I love seeing a story knit itself together over the course of 100 or 200 or 300 pages. I write because I have something to say. I write because I believe I’m the only one who can say it.

I’m incredibly lucky to have family and friends and an amazing boyfriend who support my writing, love my writing, read my writing. But I know some of you are not so lucky. I’d like to encourage you not to give up. Your parents/grandparents/friends are correct – it’s not a practical hobby. You may never get published. You may never win any contests. You may never change a life.

But the beautiful thing about art is that if you let it, it will change your life.

Write the story that will touch your heart. Don’t worry about anything else.

~Kristin

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Gorgeous post!

  2. Agree with Ciera. That is so true.

  3. That’s lovely, Red. So true, and so well written.

  4. Great post, Red. =) Way to sum it all up.

  5. Ditto with the gorgeousness.

    I do it because… well, to be honest, I’ve wanted to write a book since forever. So at first it was about completing this goal that I thought would prove how special and talented I was – lmao.

    But now that I’m halfway through my first WIP, everything’s changed. My characters are alive inside me, and even though I procrastinate constantly, they’d never let me stop writing. Thinking of new plot twist is an adrenaline rush. I don’t enjoy the process of actually writing that much, but seeing pages and pages of a story I’ve created myself, a creation of such bigger magnitude than any other project I’ve ever done? It’s an amazing feeling that makes it all worth it.

    I read an article at one point over at Cal Newport’s Studyhacks blog about something called a Grand Project – a huge undertaking, like starting an e-business or writing a novel, that Cal recommends for all high school and college kids. He recommends it because it injects novelty and excitement into a life that can otherwise get pretty stressful, with all the studying and family drama and whatever. When I read the article, I didn’t have a Grand Project, but now writing is mine, and I totally see what he meant. It’s so great to have something to focus on, something to really put your soul into. I recommend it. :D


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

