Celebration… with editing thrown in.

March 24, 2009 at 2:20 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Well, I’m celebrating this week because I’ve finally finished the first draft of my work-in-progress, My Guardian Angel, after almost three months of writing. This is big news for me because it’s the first novel I’ve ever finished. It’s total word count is… drum roll… 72,000 words.

 

But this post isn’t just me screaming my head off about the fact that I’m finally done. I’m also going to teach you something, so everyone listen up.

 

When I say finished, I don’t actually mean finished. That might sound confusing, but keep reading. When you’ve completed the first draft, you’ve got the story down. However, your prose isn’t always the best. There are grammar mistakes, spelling errors, continuity problems. Also, you might need to add scenes, remove scenes, change what people are saying, feed vital information into places. The list is endless. You might even have to rewrite it, dreadful as that idea seems.

 

Basically, my point is that editing is equally as key as writing the first draft. Before you send it to an agent, you want to have it as perfect and polished as it can possibly be. A good rule of thumb is to spend the same amount of time editing as you spent writing it.

 

However, I would like to point out that everyone’s first drafts are of different quality. Some people practically edit as they go along and will need little dedicated editing time, but for others, the first draft is just a glorified synopsis that will need lots of changing. For most people, their first draft falls round about in the middle.

 

So, when I say I’m done, I’m not really done. But it’s exciting none the less.

 

~Poppy (aka Metaphor)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Meta, you’re great. <3 I love you.
    Get editing!
    …Or wait for a week or whatever. Whatever works for you. X3

    • I’m gonna start editing when I get back from holiday :).

      I go on holiday Monday for a week.

      So soon :D. Squee!

  2. Go Meta! I can’t wait to read MGA! ^___^ Good luck with editing!

  3. Wow this is exciting!

  4. Congrats. I just finished typing up revisions for the second draft…and learned from my beta reader that I left unanswered questions in the last 3 chapters. Yeah. Wow. I basically have until April 10th to fix it before sending it off to my editor.

    You make a good point, though. This is the main advice I tell first-time authors: don’t ever think your first draft is going to be perfect the first time around. This never, ever, happens.

  5. Mine is perfect though. I don’t edit a word because that would ruin the raw integrity of the story. You know, the way the words just spill out like I’m drunk? That’s real.

    Oh, if only. :)
    Can’t wait to read MGA!
    And good luck revising, Celise.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

