It’s the Climb

June 23, 2009 at 11:21 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

When I first started writing, I never thought seriously about publication. If I thought about it at all, it was to tell myself that I didn’t care about seeing my story in a bookstore one day. And I didn’t. That dream did not start until several years had flown past. In fact, it did not start until I was in ninth grade, a good seven years after I first started out. What happened to turn the tide? A teacher read a story of mine and told me that, with a little editing, it would be good enough to be published. Looking back, I am fully aware that she was just being kind.

But even if she wasn’t serious, it got me interested in the publication process. I started writing another story while looking into agents and publishers. Within a couple years I was reading agent blogs like they were my food and drink. But there is more to writing than just the hoped-for outcome. There are bigger reasons why we can’t stay away from our works in progress for long. Sadly, I have to imagine that I’m not the only one who forgets that sometimes.

You may wonder where Miley Cyrus fits into this, and I’ll be nice and tell you now. It is in the very lyrics of this song. If you listen closely, and imagine your writing while you do, you will see where I am coming from. Because it isn’t the publication, the other side of the mountain, that is important. It is the writing, the climb, in itself.

Now, I know there have been other posts like this. They are scattered all over the internet… encouraging writers to remember why they do what they do. So I’m not going to go on. But I will post the video, because listening to this song this morning inspired me. And, let’s face it, we can all use a little inspiration when the dark side of writing gets us down.

Race

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Miley Cyrus or not, I love this song. :)

    • I do to! I just don’t like how she sings it. *is evil*

  2. Yeah, I really don’t like Miley Cyrus but this song is very inspirational!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

