July 17, 2009 at 3:01 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I’ve always been a restless (and reckless) person. You all know the type – the one who juts her chin out just because she doesn’t like the idea of not moving forward. I always need to be moving, away from where I am to the next big thing.

And sometimes I find it very easy to blame where I am for where I’m not. Suburbia is sleepy, and it makes me cranky. Why aren’t I out, exploring things? Why am I stuck inside school for eight hours a day, learning things that I need to unlearn if I ever want to hold on to any semblance of an imagination? I sit around, pitying the people who think academic success is the only surefire way to succeed, even though I’m among those who try very hard for good grades. I don’t know what I want, I just know it’s the opposite of what I have right now.

Take a deep breath. Remember that it’s okay to be struggling. It doesn’t matter if you’re eight or eighty, rich or poor: everybody has struggles that are entirely their own, and none are any less important than the others. I feel lowest when reality is pushed too hard upon me. I have to take a deep breath and remind myself: just because something isn’t happening, it doesn’t mean it isn’t real.

So, yes: you’re going to feel down sometimes. You’re going to feel like where you are will never be good enough. You’ll tell yourself, “It’ll be fine, if only I could finish this chapter. It’ll be fine, if only my character wasn’t such a dunderbrain. It would be fine, if only…”

Stop, pause, snap your fingers and jump around in circles. Where you are now is the beginning of the road you have to take to be at someplace better later. Let yourself dream. Eat nine impossible scenarios with lunch. You have more than just once upon a time… you have twice. So no matter how frustrating it becomes, keep going. The only way to improve is to falter, question, and then persevere. Come on… you’re not going to let just one roadblock determine your story’s end, are you? :P

— Lia :]

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love your optimism. I’m a fellow struggler, and reading posts like this one really brightens my day. Thank you.

  2. Thanks, Good post.
    I agree with sarah, it does brightens everyones day :)

  3. Very nice. I need a post like this sometimes, when I just feel like ‘bleh’.

  4. “Clap your hands just because where I am ain’t where I was.” -Thoroughly Modern Millie.

    I hear you, girl. :D


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

