Those annoying little moments when your muse decides to turn up

August 15, 2009 at 12:32 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Anyone had one of these? Where you’ve been stuck over a blank page for hours and written barely 50 words, then you give up and go do something random like (in my case) brush your teeth, you end up coming up with a whole chapter’s worth of stuff.

I had one just the other night at around 5 am (yes – late). I’d written hardly 250 words, then I went and brushed my teeth and my muse dumped a whole 1000 word conversation on me all at once.

These are annoying, but then you also think to yourself “I’m a genius!” and you rush back to your notebook or computer to scribble it all down. There are no ways to avoid the moments when Muse comes off holiday to actually help, but there are ways you can stop your ideas from drying up so your juices are flowing when you write.

1) Write on a strict schedule. Restrain yourself from scribbling 24 hours a day. Not only will it be better for your eyesight, but it will also mean you won’t have as many desert dry moments.

2) Plan to write ___ many words a day. What is your average? 2,000 a day? 500 a day? Everyone is different. By not stretching yourself with pressure to get so many words written a day, you’ll feel relaxed and you’ll be more likely to write better stuff at a better rate.

3) Involve yourself in daily life! This is quite obvious, really. By writing down things you do each day like going out to the park etc, you’ll be better prepared for certain situations. If you come to a point where you think “what happens next?” you can flick through your “Diary” and work on different scenarios.

Hope this helps you get past those muse strike moments! Remember not to tire out your muse!

~Becky/Magic

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My muse always strikes when I have very little writing time, or am trying to go to sleep. I try and sleep and then I have to get up every five minutes to write something down so that I don’t forget it! Great post =]

  2. I concur. My personal muse likes to arrive at 11pm, during a math class, or maybe in the middle of a violin lesson. I have a theory that my muse takes vacation when I do and works when I do. So, when I have time, she’s got other things to do that day.

  3. I always tell myself I will write 1000 words a day. And I’m always barely writing 100 these days…
    Nice post magic!

  4. This tends to happen to me when in bed, I’m trying to sleep. Always when I’m in bed, trying to sleep. I’ve found the ideas flow better when I’m supposed to be getting in bed, too. haha.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

