Over-flowery writing

September 12, 2009 at 3:22 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Okay, so we all know what school english lessons require of you: sentence structure variation, wide vocab etc. But how much of it do actual writers really agree with?

I would think quite a lot of you reading this blog would have come across several sources saying ‘avoid “-ly” words’. My school, however, has a totally different opinion – add in those “ly”s at every possible area.

For example: I was in a lesson the other day, and the english teacher wrote something along the cheesy area of “the dust coated staircase” and “the stairs groaned thunderously” all in one block of infodump.

Does anyone else have this problem were teachers make you over-flowerise your writing? I have it permanently. They seem to want us to put all that useless waffle in, when we could make it so much easier by writing the story instead of a interior decorator’s review of a place that is not needed!

Comments?

-Becky/magic

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aside from basic grammar and sentence structure, disregard EVERYTHING they tell you in English class.

    That is all.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had that problem of teachers forcing or preferring us to do that. Sure we’d learn about it and whatnot, but it was still our own writing. But I was aware of that from hearing from others. And I agree with Elusive, basic grammar and sentence structure — disregard everything else.

  3. Most English teachers are not the ones who should be teaching kids to write fiction. They’re role, it seems, is better suited to teaching grammar, sentence structure, and proper analysis of a tale. I was very happy when my teachers stopped requiring me to write short fiction.

    Nowadays, my profs only expect me to turn out essays on appropriate topics. For those, simplicity suffices and, indeed, is often the best approach.

    Magic, if your teacher tells you to compulsively add adverbs and description, redirect her to Jane Austen, a fabulous writer very light on the non-essentials.

  4. I can’t remember if my teacher did or not. I slept through most of the class. But at least I showed up for that class. I skipped most of my senior history class. By the way, I really don’t recommend doing this unless you want to redo them.

  5. Ah, but those over flowery things can be clever plot devices…*wink.

    Such as, why are the stairs creaking thunderously? Is there something under there that we should…know about? Is the house that old, are the boards in a later chapter about to…CRACK!!!

    Idk, I’m more poetic than most people :)

  6. Always it is good to write a flawless language to attract the attention of others. English which is a universal language needs to be flowery to draw the attention to whom you are communication whether oral or written. English is common language but it lays more importance to grammar concrete usage of words and following proper tenses will sure to give a required attention from others. After all language is meant to communicate properly and convey the message to others. If your language is full of mistakes if the message is recieved properly it served the purpose. But as John Keats said a thing of beauty is a joy forever a sentence or world is stated in a beautyful manners it gives altogether a different notion.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

