The Final Stretch

November 24, 2009 at 4:04 PM | Posted in Writing | 3 Comments

Somehow this crazy month is drawing to a close. Believe me, I don’t know where the time’s gone. I have had a manic month of doing little homework, sleeping a little less than usual and writing a hell of a lot more. I don’t know about you, but I’ve amazed myself with the amount I can actually write if I sit myself down and force myself to write – whatever the scene, whatever the idea, as long as it uses the characters of my book and raises my word count.

I’ve loved every minute of it. I’ve actually completed my NaNo  novel, and it fit beautifully into 50k, which means that I am now focusing my attentions onto my other project, which also got a nice 16k boost during the intense novelling sessions when I just wanted to keep writing. I don’t know if I’d have finished without the support of the lovely local WriMos; the write-ins were where I did my marathon novel writing sessions!

I hope you’re all enjoying it as much as I am. The dreary month of November has never disappeared quite so fast! Onto the Twifties current word counts:

Becky AKA NKD AKA Me – 50k. And it won’t be rising any more!

Amna AKA Geek Pride – 42k

Horserider – 50k. Finished too!

Parametric – 70k. I am in awe!

Alyce AKA Leasie – 38k

The verification opens tomorrow, and I can’t believe NaNo is over. Congrats to everyone who has won, who is getting there, or who has taken part. The fun is in the fact that thousands of insane people are doing exactly the same thing!

Please, share your wordcounts!

–Becky

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations to everyone who managed to hit 50k, and a gentle nudge for everyone else. There’s still time to get past the magic number.

  2. Haha. I’ve been @ school and working on another more important book so I’ve not got any done! A few hundred words! It’s not that I gave up it’s just that I haven’t had the time especially with my family telling me to get my main WIP finished (that I’ve been writing for 1 year now, continually rewriting lol). They only mean it in a joking way but I’ve been putting them off for ages. :P
    A pat on the back to every who did finish it though!

  3. Great job to everyone who reached their word count, and even if you didn’t good job any way. I’m new to this and until just recently i didn’t even know that november was national writing month (or whatever it is) I hope that I wiil be a able to do it next year. Great Job Everyone!

    – Red


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

