Do you have what it takes?

January 16, 2010 at 8:00 PM | Posted in Editing, Reading, teen fiction, Writing, Writing Advice | 5 Comments

Are you supposed to be writing?

Now, don’t expect a happy encouraging post here. The job of this little post isn’t to assure you you can “do it.” It is to make very clear that some people just can’t.

We’ve all come in some kind of contact with them. We either know them personally, have heard of them, or… shock… read their (sadly) published novels. They are the ones that make us say “Hey, listen, the people who are meant to do this don’t need you taking up our agents’, editors’, publishers’, readers’ time. We have a hard enough job as it is.”

These are the people that have no business writing.

They are the ones who have grand ideas of what writing a novel is. They proclaim to the world that in a year or so they’ll have enough life experience to write the next great American novel but, in fact, it is simply that they don’t have the natural inclination to start as soon as the story hits them.

They pretend that the moments of writing must be perfect… the laptop computer must be new or the notebooks unsullied with grocery lists or the new pens have the smoothest writing in dark bold ink.

They bring hot beverages and soft music, to smother themselves in the writing mood they pretend must be there.

They are the ones who think writing a book is an easy way to make money from home, just write and submit. Unfortunately for the readers, these non-writers sometimes succeed.

Their ideas of writing fiction are simply fictional.

These are fakes who want to get noticed, not writers who live and breathe their characters, and how these characters are affected throughout a novel. We talk to our characters as if they are real, play the music that fits their moods, torture ourselves for hours at the desk chair telling their stories. We are the real writers, be we published or not.

Take this quiz to see if you are really a writer or are writing a novel for reasons other than ones you should…

And I say it here: I’d rather be a real writer and never be published, than a fake one who forces the readers out there to read my garbage. But that’s just me… sadly.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW the quiz made me want to puke when I first started to take it. Then once I got into it I realized that I wasn’t as much of a slacker when it came to writing as I thought but after reading the discussion at the end I realized that there are some things that I could work on. ;)

  2. Hehe. Well, I scootched by with an 81. I kinda waffled on a few questions though lol. I don’t always have a notebook with me (although there is one in my purse), but I figure if there aren’t any napkins available I always have a fair amount of skin to use as paper. XD

  3. I got a 74. I had to go with B on the first one because I’d explode if left in a room without books, paper, or my laptop for a long period of time.

  4. wow maybe i didnt do as well as I thought I only got a 65 that is really sad maybe i should rethink writing. Even the I just started a new book. On second thought I’ll stick with it

  5. Awesome post!

    And I passed the quiz, I can be a writer! Yay :D


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

